2016 Midyear Meeting Early Bird Registration Ends Friday; Award Nomination Information


October 28, 2015

1)  Deadline is Friday for Early Bird Registration

CARH’s 2016 Midyear Meeting, which will be held January 25-27, 2016, at the Westin Riverwalk Hotel in San Antonio, Texas, is only three months away! The meeting will no doubt be an important one for those involved in affordable housing. You will not want to miss it! A detailed brochure listing all sessions, including meeting activities, special events and recreation opportunities will be available soon.

In order to take advantage of CARH’s early bird registration, you must do so by Friday, October 30, 2015! To ensure your place at what will undoubtedly be a memorable CARH meeting, simply complete the registration form and send it to the CARH national office with your registration payment.  (November 1st UPDATE:  Link is now to current registration form — October 31 deadline has passed.)

Please note the fee for the special Docent Tour of the Alamo that CARH has arranged during the Opening Reception on Monday January 27th, is not included in the price of your meeting registration fee or guest fee for the reception. Therefore, to reserve your place at the tour, ensure that you complete the “Special Event” section on the registration form and include your payment of $25 per ticket with your registration packet.

Hotel reservations should be made directly with the Westin Riverwalk Hotel by calling (210) 224-6500 and referencing the Council for Affordable and Rural Housing to receive the special discounted rates. Or, click here, to reserve a room online. Please note, discounted hotel rates expire on January 5, 2016.

Don’t wait until registration rates go up on October 31stClick here to download the registration form!

2)  Awards Nomination Information

As mentioned above, the 2016 Midyear Meeting is fast approaching. On Tuesday, January 28th during a luncheon at the Westin Riverwalk Hotel CARH’s 2015 Member of the Year, Harry L. Tomlinson and State Affiliated Association of the Year awards will be presented. The CARH Awards Committee – David Layfield, Don Beaty and Charlie Bringardner – are now accepting nominations for these awards. All nominations should be sent to the CARH Awards Committee in care of the CARH national office, 1112 King Street, Alexandria, Virginia 22314, no later than Thursday, December 31, 2015.

To nominate a CARH member for the Member of the Year award, send a detailed letter to the Awards Committee informing them about the person’s commitment to CARH and to the affordable housing industry in general.

The Harry L. Tomlinson award was established to recognize meritorious achievement by a public servant on the local, state or federal level in furthering affordable and rural rental housing. To nominate an individual for this award, please send the Awards Committee the Nomination Form and supporting documentation which describes nominee’s commitment to CARH and to the affordable housing industry. Select the highlighted language for the Tomlinson Award Nomination Form and the Tomlinson Award Selection Criteria.

The State Affiliated Association of the Year award recognizes and encourages excellence in the programs, services and management of CARH’s 15 state affiliated associations. To nominate a state affiliated association for this award, send the Awards Committee the Application and supporting documentation which provides a synopsis of that association’s activities and accomplishments as well as other documentation in support of the application. Select the highlighted language for the State Affiliated Association Award Application and the State Affiliated Association Award Selection Criteria.

If you have any questions, please contact the CARH national office at or 703-837-9001 or carh@carh.org.

Comments are closed.